• Welcome to Battlezone Universe.

News:

Welcome to the BZU Archive dated December 24, 2009. Topics and posts are in read-only mode. Those with accounts will be able to login and browse anything the account had access granted to at the time. No changes to permissions will be made to be given access to particular content. If you have any questions, please reach out to squirrelof09/Rapazzini.

Main Menu

New proposed power source for spaceships

Started by ScarleTomato, November 05, 2009, 02:46:39 PM

Previous topic - Next topic

mrtwosheds

Quotelike I said, I'm not that good at physics so I might be wrong.
At this sort of physics (physics fiction) you are as good as anyone!

NoStr0m0

Quote from: Nielk1 on November 26, 2009, 05:40:06 PM
IIRC they expel radiation from their poles from matter they absorb, unless it was the multidimensional energy from somewhere else thing.

I thought they were going to contain the black hole in a magnetic field or something so nothing actually gets sucked in, which would cause the black hole to become unstable with possibly dire consequences.
The two polar jets you're talking about are something else. And I think they can't appear at such small black holes. We are talking, if not microscopic, then mostly a pin head sized one.
But how do you contain one, anyway? I mean... can magnetic fields contain gravity? That would be a more important discovery than how to actually harness the energy emitted from them.

Hawking radiation is... water, evaporating from a pot, one molecule at a time, very slowly. Small black holes have a shorter life because of this. While supermassive ones can keep losing particles for a long time before their mass can no longer cause a singularity and they first become visible, ghostly and then fully visible and decompose away into nothingness, small ones will generally "burn" out quite quickly. Black hole batteries, for your long lasting MP3 needs.