Battlezone Universe

Battlezone Universe => Archive Vault => Public 1.3 Beta Archive => Topic started by: Jwk the Hemp Monkey on March 13, 2004, 01:27:04 PM

Title: (minor fix) Load game Shell
Post by: Jwk the Hemp Monkey on March 13, 2004, 01:27:04 PM
Might be an idea to modify the shell for the single player. After playing a mission for 30min or so, i went to save the game, but accidently pressed 'load' isntead of 'save'...and thus lost the 30min of work.

Now it was not to bad, due to the fact that only 30min of playing was lost. However, it would be hair tearingly bad if your inches away from completeing a mission like 'into fire' on FE...and then load from the 3-hour away save point lol.

One simple fix would be a '' Are you sure you want to LOAD your save? It will mean you lose your current position. '' message...

Instead of instantly loading.
Title: (minor fix) Load game Shell
Post by: SilverB1rd on March 13, 2004, 05:27:56 PM
That fix might be possible without nathans doing. Does any of the more advanced iface programers know if the save/load game is in the cfg files?
Title: (minor fix) Load game Shell
Post by: Tempest Storm on March 13, 2004, 05:56:02 PM
// handle the "load" event
//
OnEvent("Load")
{
   Cmd("shell.loadgame.now");
   cmd("shell.stopSound mire22_5.wav");   
}

Should be pretty feasable to change the shell.loadgame.now to make a "window" popup that has "Are you sure" and a OK and Cancel button. Might aswell do it for the Save button too.
Title: (minor fix) Load game Shell
Post by: Jwk the Hemp Monkey on March 13, 2004, 08:41:56 PM
Save already has it ontop of the 'over write save game?' function.
Title: (minor fix) Load game Shell
Post by: Tempest Storm on March 14, 2004, 02:29:28 AM
Oh OK, I never actually saved a game before so I didn't know. :P
Title: (minor fix) Load game Shell
Post by: Commando on March 14, 2004, 03:02:47 AM
I save a lot of games :).  I agree with hemp on the annoyance of the load button.  I have done that in the past and lost maybe 30 to 40 minutes of work.  That was a long time ago, but it is still possible to hit the wrong button.

The save button doesn't need to be altered since it gives you the ability to cancel if you have a save game already with a certain name.  The game asks you if you want to replace the old save game, if you don't, you can cancel.  This gives you the chance to replace the old save game, or the ability to rename the new one before saving it.