• Welcome to Battlezone Universe.

News:

Welcome to the BZU Archive dated December 24, 2009. Topics and posts are in read-only mode. Those with accounts will be able to login and browse anything the account had access granted to at the time. No changes to permissions will be made to be given access to particular content. If you have any questions, please reach out to squirrelof09/Rapazzini.

Main Menu

Tutorials for creating textures?

Started by TheJamsh, October 26, 2009, 09:53:02 AM

Previous topic - Next topic

TheJamsh

I have Photoshop CS3 (and all the related programs), but NO idea how to use it. I mainly want it to create effects textures.

Anyone know where to start? Steeveeo is probably the person to ask here, but im a complete PS noob.

BZII Expansion Pack Development Leader. Coming Soon.

Shadow Knight

I can help you here, and it's conveniant for me to do so since I'm working on some weapons.
My weapon will be a kind of ion cannon and I need a custom texture for the bolt. I'll guide you through the process i took to make it so you can learn techniques, as opposed to how to make specific effects.

To start with, think about what you'll need it to look like. I want my bolt to look like a streak with a particle on the tip, so I'll make the particle. For this tutorial I'll be using gimp, although photoshop works in almost exactly the same way.

To start, make a blank image and fill it with black. Don't worry too much about the canvas size at the moment.

Next, I'm going to make a new layer and create a white circle straight in the middle of the image by using the circle select tool and filling it with white. This will be the glow around the effect later.

Using the same technique and on different layers, hiding the ones i'm not using at the time, I then proceeded to make some particles inside the glow, ending up looking like this.