• Welcome to Battlezone Universe.

News:

Welcome to the BZU Archive dated December 24, 2009. Topics and posts are in read-only mode. Those with accounts will be able to login and browse anything the account had access granted to at the time. No changes to permissions will be made to be given access to particular content. If you have any questions, please reach out to squirrelof09/Rapazzini.

Main Menu

skins won't stick to vehicle

Started by Josiah, September 25, 2009, 03:51:18 PM

Previous topic - Next topic

Josiah

Preamble: Hi, it's nice to be here, but I have no idea if anyone has asked the same question, so I'll go ahead and ask it...

I have a tad of a problem, you might say. I imported several ships from another game, by using 3ds max 2010, stuck the skins on, and exported to xsi. Works fine, with one problem. The dadgum skins won't stick, and I'm relatively new to this kind of stuff, so I'd like to know what I am doing wrong. this is what I do, in order:

open 3ds max 2010
import file (.vdf)
clean up excess parts(unwanted)
create EYEPOINT and HP_COM_01
open material editor
in "DirectX manager"(at bottom), beside "[] Enable plugin material"(which is checked) I select from the list of none, lightmap, and metal bump9, the metal bump9 option
in "DirectX Shader - Metal Bump9", choose "Texture 1" from the sub-box "Ambient & Diffuse", and pick my texture(in this case, avapc.tga, 16bit, and it is in the addon folder)
save as .max file
export to BzII compatible .xsi
copy xsi to addon
create this file:

[GameObjectClass]
baseName = "avapc"
geometryName = "avapc.xsi"
classLabel = "apc"
collisionRadius = 7.0
scrapValue = 20
scrapCost = 50
customCost = 80
buildTime = 20.0
customTime = 20.0
maxHealth = 3000
maxAmmo = 0
unitName = "TestAPC"
aiName = "APCProcess"
heatSignature = 10.0
imageSignature = 0.5
radarSignature = 0.0
isAssault = 1
hasPilot = 1

canSnipe = 1

armorClass = L

requireCount = 2
requireName1 = "ibfact"
requireText1 = "Build Factory"