• Welcome to Battlezone Universe.

News:

Welcome to the BZU Archive dated December 24, 2009. Topics and posts are in read-only mode. Those with accounts will be able to login and browse anything the account had access granted to at the time. No changes to permissions will be made to be given access to particular content. If you have any questions, please reach out to squirrelof09/Rapazzini.

Main Menu

List of Programs needed...

Started by Josiah, September 29, 2009, 11:54:25 AM

Previous topic - Next topic

Josiah

I am wanting to know what programs I need to have for BzII mission making. Also, if there is some sort of tutorial for movies in-game, what the dll files do and how to use them, and what are all the flags for the odfs, terrain, and what they do. basically, are there tutorials to make a total noob understand the game?

EDIT: lol, just found Bz2Scriptor, somewhat helpful. Also, is there an BzII xsi import for 3ds max?

TheJamsh

Quote from: Josiah on September 29, 2009, 11:54:25 AM
and what are all the flags for the odfs
:lol: how many years have you got? You know what the best way is to learn to mod? Dive in and experiment.

The best tool for ANY modder is notepad. And thats free. You can edit ODF's, CFG's, .TXT, .INF, .XSI etc. If you want to learn C++ for complex mission .dlls you can download a C++ scripter/compiler somewhere (Visual Studio for example).

The second best tool is the BZ2 Editor. Which comes with BZ2 free also (with 1.3 systems its a separate .exe). Here you can create maps, edit original maps, test youre objects etc.

Something you WILL need is PAK Explorer, which allows you to open data.pak and patch13.pak in the root directory. These two .pak files contains nearly all of BZ2's assets, and you will need to go HERE to get it. (under utilities somewhere).