• Welcome to Battlezone Universe.
 

News:

Welcome to the BZU Archive dated December 24, 2009. Topics and posts are in read-only mode. Those with accounts will be able to login and browse anything the account had access granted to at the time. No changes to permissions will be made to be given access to particular content. If you have any questions, please reach out to squirrelof09/Rapazzini.

Main Menu

(minor fix) Load game Shell

Started by Jwk the Hemp Monkey, March 13, 2004, 01:27:04 PM

Previous topic - Next topic

Jwk the Hemp Monkey

Might be an idea to modify the shell for the single player. After playing a mission for 30min or so, i went to save the game, but accidently pressed 'load' isntead of 'save'...and thus lost the 30min of work.

Now it was not to bad, due to the fact that only 30min of playing was lost. However, it would be hair tearingly bad if your inches away from completeing a mission like 'into fire' on FE...and then load from the 3-hour away save point lol.

One simple fix would be a '' Are you sure you want to LOAD your save? It will mean you lose your current position. '' message...

Instead of instantly loading.

SilverB1rd

That fix might be possible without nathans doing. Does any of the more advanced iface programers know if the save/load game is in the cfg files?

Tempest Storm

// handle the "load" event
//
OnEvent("Load")
{
   Cmd("shell.loadgame.now");
   cmd("shell.stopSound mire22_5.wav");   
}

Should be pretty feasable to change the shell.loadgame.now to make a "window" popup that has "Are you sure" and a OK and Cancel button. Might aswell do it for the Save button too.

Jwk the Hemp Monkey

Save already has it ontop of the 'over write save game?' function.

Tempest Storm

Oh OK, I never actually saved a game before so I didn't know. :P

Commando

I save a lot of games :).  I agree with hemp on the annoyance of the load button.  I have done that in the past and lost maybe 30 to 40 minutes of work.  That was a long time ago, but it is still possible to hit the wrong button.

The save button doesn't need to be altered since it gives you the ability to cancel if you have a save game already with a certain name.  The game asks you if you want to replace the old save game, if you don't, you can cancel.  This gives you the chance to replace the old save game, or the ability to rename the new one before saving it.