• Welcome to Battlezone Universe.

News:

Welcome to the BZU Archive dated December 24, 2009. Topics and posts are in read-only mode. Those with accounts will be able to login and browse anything the account had access granted to at the time. No changes to permissions will be made to be given access to particular content. If you have any questions, please reach out to squirrelof09/Rapazzini.

Main Menu

DLL & AUTOREG trickery

Started by TheJamsh, January 28, 2009, 03:47:47 PM

Previous topic - Next topic

TheJamsh

Im no programmer outside of the PIC chip programmer and the BZII dll scriptor. But i have a question

I want recycler variants to become available in my mod when you pass certain missions. The most effective way i think this can be done is to 'write' an AUTOREG file in the rootdir when certain parts of the mission/storyline are passed. Hell you could have plenty of fun with it.

I suspect it's do-able, albeit far outside the scope of the BZII scriptor. My question is, can it be done? and if so (to a programming noob), how?

BZII Expansion Pack Development Leader. Coming Soon.

Nielk1

Easily. Interesting Idea. Another option is to yell at a person who uses a rec they can't. Yes, you can load such things, but it would be the server with all the control of the MP game, and someone could bypass it rather easily.

Click on the image...

GSH

Writing out files to C:\Program Files\Games\Battlezone II\ (or anything under program files) is going to fail, miserably, under Vista or Win7 when not run as an admin. Please don't go that route.

A very similar issue came up a few weeks ago, with another modder. (Some work does get done on irc, even if nobody else uses it.) Writing an access key to the registry (under HKEY_CURRENT_USER\...) is a way that'll work on all systems; the DLL just needs to check the access, and early-exit if the user's using the wrong thing. I put up a really small sample in the area for private testers.

-- GSH

Nielk1